Bangladesh Cricket: Abahani beat Kalabagan by six wickets
03:05 PM, May 02, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:56 PM, May 02, 2017

Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League

Abahani beat Kalabagan by six wickets

Abahani Limited v Kalabagan Krira Chakra

Abahani Limited managed to beat Kalabagan Krira Chakra by six wickets with 118 balls remaining during the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match at BKSP’s No. 4 ground today.

Chasing 157, Abahani had a steady start but lost two wickets inside 13 overs. However, the third and fourth wicket stands of 49 took Abahani across the finish line quite comfortably in the end. Saif Hasan smashed 61 from 62 balls for Abahani.

Abul Hasan took 2-20 in four overs for Kalabagan Krira Chakra.

Earlier, Abahani Limited’s Shuvagata Hom took 4-19 to wreck Kalabagan Krira Chakra’s innings today as the Kalabagan outfit limped to 156 all out in 45.5 overs.

Abahani captain Mohammad Mithun opted to bowl first and his bowlers had Kalabagan in deep trouble at 3-28 inside 10 overs. After Mossadek Hossain was sent back in the 31st over with 108 runs on the board for six wickets, Kalabagan’s lower order chipped in with some handy runs to extend their innings but could only take their team to 156 in the end.

Kalabagan’s captain Tushar Imran scored 36 from 60 while Hamilton Masakadza made 31. Shuvagata was on top of his game as he captured 4-19 in 10 overs to wreck Kalabagan’s innings. Mohammad Saifuddin took 2-26 in 8.5 overs to peg back Kalabagan


Kalabagan Krira Chakra: 156 all out in 45.5 overs

Abahani Limited 161/4 in 30.2 overs

(Saif 61, Mohammad 30, Abul 2-20)

Result: Abahani Limited win by 6 wickets (with 118 balls remaining)

Legends of Rupganj v Mohammedan Sporting Club

Taijul Islam took six wickets for 24 runs in 10 overs to help his side Mohammedan Sporting Club defend 135 and defeat Legends of Rupganj by 51 runs at BKSP No. 3 ground today.

Legends of Rupganj were in deep trouble early chasing the small total, and were faltering at 5-38 inside 10 overs. Mohammedan bowlers were relentless in their purpose and kept on taking regular breakthroughs to deny Rupganj any substantial partnerships. Mosharraf Hossain’s 22 was the highest score during Rupganj’s 84.

Apart from Taijul’s six-for, Sajedul Islam took two wickets in four overs to peg back Rupganj.

Earlier, Asif Hasan of Legends of Rupganj took four wickets in 5.4 overs to help his side bowl out Mohammedan Sporting Club for 135. Legends of Rupganj captain Mosharraf Hossain opted to bowl first, and his bowlers had Mohammedan struggling at 3-30 inside 11 overs. After the fourth wicket stand of 37 in 10.5 overs, Mohammedan kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and eventually their innings ended in 39.4 overs with only 135 runs on the board.

Raqibul Hasan, captain of Mohammedan made 24 from 34 balls while Shamsur Rahman chipped in with 23 runs. Asif captured 4-19 in 5.4 overs while Mohammad Sharif and Jalaj Saxena took two wickets each.


Mohammedan Sporting Club:  135 all out in 39.4 overs

Legends of Rupganj: 84 all out 32.4 overs

 (Mosharraf 22, Naeem 15, Taijul 6-24)

Result: Mohammedan Sporting Club win by 51 runs

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club v Prime Bank Cricket Club

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club defeated Prime Bank Cricket Club by seven wickets with 28 balls remaining in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah today.

Prime DSC were in a spot of bother chasing 181 and were struggling at 2-18 inside seven overs. However, the 123-run stand for the third wicket in 29.0 overs followed by the unbeaten partnership of 40 took Prime DSC home.

Shahriar Nafees was 78 not out from 125 balls and Marshall Ayub made 62 to ensure Prime DSC won the match with plenty of balls to spare. Al-Amin Hossain of Prime Bank Cricket Club took two wickets for 26 runs in eight overs.

Earlier, Farhad Reza and Delwar Hossain took three wickets each as Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club restricted Prime Bank Cricket Club to only 180 runs after 49.5 overs.

Prime Bank captain Mehedi Maruf won the toss and decided to bat first. From the fifth over, his side kept on losing wickets as Prime DSC bowlers took regular breakthroughs and denied any substantial partnership to develop.

Prime Bank recovered to some extent with their fifth wicket stand of 59 in 16.3 overs, but Prime DSC asserted themselves as they managed to take wickets in clusters. After Zakir Hasan was dismissed in the 44th over, Ariful Haque pushed the total towards 180 with his 30 from 34 balls. Zakir was the top-scorer for Prime Bank with 52 from 103 balls.

Prime DSC captain Farhad captured 3-30 from 9.5 overs and Delwar Hossain took 3-17 in eight overs to rock Prime Bank’s innings.


Prime Bank Cricket Club: 180 all out in 49.5 overs

Prime DSC: 181/3 (45.2 ov)

(Shahriar 78*, Marshall 62, Al-Amin 2-26)

Result: Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club win by 7 wickets (with 28 balls remaining)

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News