Heavyweights trounced | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, July 27, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:14 AM, July 27, 2018

Pakistan General Election 2018

Heavyweights trounced

Many political heavyweights suffered defeat in their strongholds, according to unofficial results of the countrywide polling that concluded at 6pm on Wednesday, with some complaining of rigging and foul play.

The Election Commission of Pakistan failed to release official results till the filing of report citing some technical problems on their end. Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan Babar Yaqoob confirmed early Thursday morning that the results had been delayed due to a technical glitch.

According to the unofficial results shared by the ECP on it's website, PPP chief Bilawal Bhutto has secured a victory in Larkana but lost to PTI's Abdul Shakoor Shad in Karachi by 13,245 votes in Lyari and to PTI's Junaid Akbar by over 35,000 votes in Malakand.

Awami National Party (ANP) stalwart Ghulam Ahmed Bilour lost the election to PTI candidate Shaukat Ali who was polled 72,822 votes. Bilour bagged 40,372 votes. "The results indicate that Imran Khan is a favorite leader of the people of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. I am a democratic person and I admit the defeat," said Bilour who recently lost his nephew during an election campaign in a suicide attack.

PML-N leader Tariq Fazl Chaudhry lost the election to Raja Khurram Shahzad of PTI in NA-52.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan defeated PML-N leader and former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi in NA-53, Islamabad.

PTI chief Imran Khan defeated Akram Khan Durrani of MMA in NA-35, Bannu.

PML-N leader Talal Chaudhry lost the race to Nawaz Sher in NA-102, Faisalabad-2.

Former Punjab law minister and PML-N stalwart Rana Sanaullah lost the election to Nisar Ahmed Jatt of PTI in NA-106-Faislabad 6.

JI chief Sirajul Haq lost the election to Muhammad Bashir Khan in NA-7, Lower Dir-2.

PML-N leader Amir Muqam lost the election to Haider Ali khan of PTI in NA-2, Swat-1.

Former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan lost to PTI's Sarwar Khan in NA-59, Rawalpindi-3 and NA-63, Rawalpindi-7.

ANP leader Asfandyar Wali lost the elections to Fazl Muhammad Khan of PTI in NA-124, Charsadda 2.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News