Soumya dropped, Rubel and Shafiul in | The Daily Star
11:47 AM, September 16, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:48 PM, September 16, 2019

Soumya dropped, Rubel and Shafiul in

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the squad today for the third and fourth matches of the ongoing tri-nation T20 series and Soumya Sarkar has been dropped following a poor run with the bat.

The Tigers also excluded right-arm pacer Yasir Arafat Mishu while pacers Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam were this time included after sitting out the first two games. Rubel last played a T20I fixture in August last year during Bangladesh’s tour of West Indies while Shafiul last appeared in a T20I match during Bangladesh’s tour of South Africa in 2017.

Perhaps to keep the right-hand and left-hand combination going, Bangladesh have also included Nazmul Hossain Shanto to take the place of Soumya. The left-hander is yet to make his T20 debut having appeared for the Tigers during the Asia Cup last year. Nayeem Sheikh and Aminul Biplob made the cut while Mahedi Hasan, who did not get a game in the first two matches, was exluded.

Following their defeat to Afghanistan yesterday, the Tigers will now take on Zimbabwe on September 18 at Chattogram in their next match.



Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Sheikh, Aminul Biplob, Nazmul Hossain Shanto


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News