Grand alliance has fair chance to sail through | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 25, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 25, 2008

Election 20083 Madaripur Seats

Grand alliance has fair chance to sail through

Campaign has got momentum in all the three constituencies of Madaripur district.
Activists of Awami League (AL) -led grand alliance and BNP-led four-party alliance are busy with door-to-door campaign, holding meetings and processions to ensure victory of their respective candidates.
Out of three seats, two will see two-pronged contest while the other one is expected to see a triangular fight.
According to political observers and analysts, the grand alliance candidates are fighting to ensure victory with a big margin this time while the four- party alliance candidates are fighting for 'prestigious defeat'.
Awami League International Affairs Secretary and former state minister for LGRD and Cooperatives Alhaj Syed Abul Hossain is contesting from Madaripur-3 seat for the fourth consecutive parliamentary elections.
He has made this seat a stronghold for AL by carrying out huge development activities including establishing schools, colleges and constructing roads, culverts and bridges. He won the elections in 1991, 1996 and 2001.
His main rival is Habibur Rahman Azad of four-party alliance.
There is internal feud within AL in Madaripur-2 seat. A veteran leader of labour front of Awami League Shahjahan Khan who won from this seat in the bye-election in 1991 and in the elections in 1996 and 2001 will fight against four-party alliance candidate Helen Jerin Khan, a former BNP lawmaker and Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) leader. Helen Jerin Khan is going door-to-door to get benefit from the internal feud of Awami League.
In Madaripur-1, grand alliance candidate and former Awami League lawmaker Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury Liton, son of Bangabandhu's relative Ilias Ahmed Chowdhury, will face fourparty alliance candidate and Islami Oikya Jote leader Abdullah Mohammad Hasan, and independent candidates Kamal Jamal Mollah, Md Habibur Rahman and Nasir Ahmed Chowdhury. He also won the elections in 1996 and 2001. There will be three-pronged contest in this seat.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News