Grassroots AL oppose fielding 'unpopular' men in 7 JS seats in Barisal division | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, November 23, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, November 23, 2008

Grassroots AL oppose fielding 'unpopular' men in 7 JS seats in Barisal division

Awami League (AL) grassroots leaders and activists have demanded that party high command cancel nomination in seven constituencies in Barisal division.
The constituencies are Barisal-1 (Gouranadi-Agoiljhara upazila), and Barisal-2 (Uzirpur-Banaripara), Barisal-5 (Barisal city and Sadar upazila), Barisal-6 (Bakerganj), Patuakhali-3 (Galachipa-Dasmina), Jhalakati-1 (Rajapur-Kathalia), Pirojpur-2 (Rajapur-Swarupkathi).
Candidates in those constituencies were given nomination through ignoring the lists of aspirants selected by grassroots leaders, they said.
Grassroots Awami League leaders of those constituencies expressed reaction over nomination of candidates, saying that the party high command fielded candidates ignoring their suggestions and depriving dedicated and acceptable leaders.
AL leaders of Barisal-1 (Gouranadi-Agoiljhara upazila) and Barisal-2 (Uzirpur-Banaripara) constituencies said Abul Hasanat Abdullah has been selected for the two constituencies as AL candidate ignoring opinion of grassroots leaders.
The grassroots leaders proposed nomination of district AL office secretary advocate Talukdar Md Yunus for Barisal-1 and former JP lawmaker Manirul Islam Moni, a newcomer in AL, for Barisal-2.
Veteran and dedicated AL leaders like Habibur Rahman Khan, Shahe Alam, Syed Mainul Huq, were also in the list, grassroots leaders said.
Hasanat who remained absconding since one-eleven, has been convicted in four corruption cases. He also failed to get his name included in the new voter list.
For Barisal-5, the constituency including the divisional city and Sadar upazila, Col Zahid Faruk (rtd) was selected as candidate although grassroots level AL leaders suggested nomination of only Mahabubuddin Bir Bikram for this constituency.
That decision not only ignored, but also was nomination was given to such a person who is totally unknown in the constituency and even has no primary membership of the party.
A large section of AL activists and supporters in Barisal-6 (Bakerganj) constituency are unhappy over naming of Brig Gen Hafiz Mallik for Barisal-6.
The central AL leaders neglected leading nomination aspirants veteran AL leaders like former AL lawmaker Masud Reza, businessman Shamsul Alam Chunnu, Khan Altaf Hossain Bhulu, the local leaders alleged.
Grassroots leaders and activists of AL in Galachipa unit tendered resignation en masse protesting the nomination of Golam Moula Roni.
The local AL at a meeting on November 8 selected party central leader and former state minister AKM Jahangir Hossain as party candidate from Patuakhali-3 (Galachipa-Dasmina).
Local AL activists rejected nomination of businessman BH Harun in Jhalakati-1 (Rajapur-Kathalia) as the grassroots AL men at a meeting on November 8 selected party central leader and former lawmaker Mahe Alam as party candidate from Jhalakati-1.
AL nominated BH Harun, however, told journalists that protest against the decision of central AL would be considered as violation of party discipline.
Nomination of Sheikh Habibur Rahman, former additional secretary, for Pirojpur-2, has caused dissatisfaction among local AL activists.
They termed him as a new comer in the party and unknown in the constituency.
Local AL activists have expressed dissatisfaction over nomination of Dhirendra Devnath Shamvu for Barguna-1 instead of AL leader former lawmaker Delwar Hossain, who won in past election as a 'rebel independent candidate' and later rejoined AL.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News