Cultural Rendezvous | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 16, 2011 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, February 16, 2011

Cultural Rendezvous

Gala opening ceremony of World Cup Cricket 2011

Clockwise from top-left: Shibly Mohammad (right) and Shamim Ara Nipa. Arnob. Elita. Hridoy Khan. Mila. Ibrar Tipu. Kona. Balam

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

All eyes are on the gala opening ceremony of the World Cup Cricket 2011 -- to be held at Bangabanghu National Stadium in Dhaka on February 17.
The three host countries -- Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka -- will showcase their cultural excellences through performances in three phases.
Noted Bangladeshi dancers and choreographers Shibly Mohammad and Shamim Ara Nipa have choreographed the 18 minute long Bangladeshi part of the celebration. Bangladesh Cricket Board has scripted the entire performance that features references to the Language Movement [of 1952]; the Liberation War [of 1971]; elements of patriotism; folk themed pieces representing idyllic Bangladesh; classical heritage [Kathak dance]; indigenous art forms and above all splendours of the opulent Bangladeshi culture.
"Around 200 dancers from our troupe 'Nrityanchal' along with 45 indigenous dancers will take part in the act -- representing the uniqueness of Bangladesh. Apart from this, more than 1000 supporting dancers will be placed in the field to enhance the performance," said Shibly Mohammad.
Shibly also spoke highly of the other choreographer, Shamim Ara Nipa. "Nipa is very creative. Throughout the preparation process we've maintained close coordination," he said.
Noted musician Ibrar Tipu has composed and directed music for the welcome song: "O Prithibi Ebar Eshey Bangla Ke Nao Chiney". Zulfiqar Russell is the lyricist of the song. Indian musician trio Shankar-Ehsan-Loy composed the official song "Maar Ghumakey" [in three languages -- Bengali, Hindi and Singhalese]. Performance of that song will wrap up the inaugural ceremony.
Popular singers Arnob, Mila, Elita, Balam, Hridoy Khan and Kona will lend their voices to the welcome song. Several singers will also take part in the chorus segment.
"Ibrar Tipu is a highly talented musician. He is adept in both Western and Indian classical music. This composition will very likely earn him wider recognition," Shibly added.
Both Indian and Sri Lankan segments of the performances will stretch 12 minutes each. Famed Indian singer Sonu Nigam will perform an opera-styled "Let's Go for Glory". The artiste has composed the lyrics and music for the number. Sri Lankan singers Snayushi and Iraj will render songs in their segment.
Three Bangladeshi divas -- Runa Laila, Sabina Yasmin and Momtaz -- will perform their respective songs at the beginning of the Bangladeshi segment. Internationally famed Canadian singer Bryan Adams will also perform two songs on the occasion.
BTV with several other international TV channels will air the programme live.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News