21 named for Ekushey Padak 2019 | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 07, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, February 07, 2019

21 named for Ekushey Padak

Prof Halima Khatun, Azam Khan awarded posthumously

Twenty-one eminent personalities will get the country's second-highest civilian award, Ekushey Padak, this year in recognition of their contributions to various fields.

The cultural affairs ministry announced the names of the recipients yesterday.

Prof Halima Khatun (posthumous), advocate Golam Arif Tipu and Prof Monowara Islam have been selected for the award for their role in the Language Movement.

Subir Nandi, Azam Khan (posthumous) and Khairul Anam Shakil are being recognised for their contributions to music while Lucky Enam, Suborna Mustafa and Liaquat Ali Lucky for performing arts.

Sayeda Khanam and Jamal Uddin Ahmed have been chosen for their contributions to photography and fine arts respectively while Khitindra Chandra Baishya is getting the Ekushey Padak for his role in the Liberation War.

Dr Biswajit Ghosh and Dr Mahbubul Haque have been picked for the award for their research while Dr Pranab Kumar Barua is being awarded for his contribution to education.

Rizia Rahman, Imdadul Haq Milon, Ashim Saha, Anwara Syed Haq, Mainul Ahsan Saber and Harishankar Jaladas are getting the award for contributing to language and literature.

Each awardee will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque for Tk 2 lakh.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Ekushey Padak to the winners and their representatives at a ceremony at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre on February 20.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News