5 mayoral aspirants submit nomination papers | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 09, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:22 AM, April 09, 2019

Mymensingh City Polls

5 mayoral aspirants submit nomination papers

Five mayoral aspirants of Mymensingh City Corporation (MCC) election submitted their nomination papers on the last date yesterday.

They are Ekramul Haque Titu from Awami League, Jahangir Ahmed from Jatiya Party, Abu Musa Sarker (independent), Dr Biswajit Bhaduri (independent) and Shahidul Islam Swapon Mondal (independent), said Md Alimuzzaman, regional election officer in Mymensingh.

Of them, Titu is incumbent administrator of MCC. He was also the mayor of now defunct Mymensingh municipality.

A total of 259 aspirants submitted their nomination papers for 33 ward councillor posts while 71 submitted papers for 11 women councillor posts.

The maiden election to MCC will be held on May 5. Electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used at all 130 voting centres in 33 wards, said Sarwar Jahan, district election officer.

As per schedule, Election Commission earlier set April 8 for submission of nomination papers, April 10 for scrutinising those and April 17 for withdrawal of candidacy.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News