06:07 PM, January 06, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 07:25 PM, January 06, 2019

The AL big shots dropped

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina-led new cabinet will be formed tomorrow excluding some heavyweight ministers of the immediate past cabinet.

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam today announced the names of the new cabinet members including 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers.

A total of 31 new faces were included in the cabinet while 25 ministers, nine state and two deputy ministers of the immediate past cabinet were excluded.

Some new faces have been given priority in the new cabinet to give them space bringing dynamism in the state function, an Awami League leader wishing anonymity told The Daily Star.

The Awami League bigwigs are among Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu, Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed, Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, Health Minister Mohammad Nasim, LGRD Minister Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Expatriate Welfare Minister Nurul Islam, Social Welfare Minister Rashed Khan Menon and Housing and Public Works Minister Engineer Mosharraf Hossain were dropped from the new cabinet.

Public Administration Minister Syed Ashraful Islam died on January 3. Finance Minister AMA Muhith, prior to the 11th parliamentary election, told that he would take retirement and thus he did not participate in the December 30 national election.

Among the Awami League-led 14-party grand alliance, Workers Party of Bangladesh President also former Social Welfare Minister Rashed Khan Menon and Jatiya Samastantrik Dal (JSD) President also former Information Minister Hasanul Huq Inu were dropped from the new cabinet.

Former Shipping Minister Shajahan Khan, Relief and Disaster Management Minister Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya, Foreign Minister Abul Hasan Mahmud Ali, Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, Food Minister Qamqul Islam were also kept aside from the new cabinet.

Of them, Maya was not given nomination to contest the just ended national election.

Among the state ministers, former State Minister for Textiles and Jute Mirza Azam, Jatiya Party Presidium Member and also State Minister for Labour Mujibul Haque Chunnu, State Minister for Information Tarana Halim and State Minister for Local Government Mushiur Rahman Ranga were also dropped form the new cabinet.

There is no Jatiya Party lawmaker in the new cabinet as the party has recently announced that it would act as a real and effective opposition party in the 11th parliament.

There were three state ministers in the immediate past cabinet.

Awami League secured 257 seats, its alliance partners Jatiya Party got 22, Workers Party of Bangladesh 3, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh 2 Tarikat Federation 1, JSD 2 and Jatiya Party (Manju) secured 1 seat in the December 30 national election. 

However, Awami League did not pick any lawmaker from its alliance partners in the new cabinet.

Leave your comments