11:06 PM, December 10, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:20 PM, December 11, 2018

1841 candidates to contest JS polls

A total of 1841 candidates from different political parties will contest against 300 seats in the 11th parliamentary election scheduled for December 30.

Of the 1841 candidates, 1745 will take part under their respective party banners while 96 will contest the election as independent candidates, said an official of Election Commission.

In Rangpur division, 203 candidates will contest under party banners and 12 as independent candidates. 

A total of 187 party candidates and 10 independent aspirants in Rajshahi division while 198 party candidates and 3 independent candidates in Khulna, 109 party candidates and 5 independent aspirants in Barishal, 435 party candidates and 21 independent aspirants in Dhaka, 121 party candidates and 6 independent candidates in Mymensingh and 111 party candidates and 3 independent candidates from Sylhet division will contest the polls.

Meanwhile, returning officers have begun allocating polls symbols to candidates of the upcoming general election, opening the field for electioneering.

Following the symbol allocation, candidates can now begin the election campaign in their respective constituencies.


The 11th general election will be held on December 30.

As per the polls schedule, the deadline for filing the nomination papers was November 28.

The authorities had fixed December 2 for scrutiny and December 9 the last date for nomination withdrawal. The election campaign has begun December 10.

Leave your comments