21 August grenade attack: Accused and charges | The Daily Star
12:13 PM, October 10, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:06 PM, October 10, 2018

Aug 21 grenade attack: Accused and charges

The verdicts in August 21 grenade attack cases, to be delivered 14 years after the blasts on Bangabandhu Avenue, are likely to further heat up the political landscape ahead of the national election as several BNP leaders, including the party’s acting chairman Tarique Rahman, are accused in the cases.

Take a look below for a quick recap on the charges and number of accused in the two cases filed over the grenade attack on an Awami League rally in 2004 that killed 24 people and injured at least 300 others.


Charge: Conspiracy and approving the plan

Accused: Tarique Rahman, Lutfozzaman Babar, Abdus Salam Pintu, Abul Harris Chowdhury, former political secretary to prime minister Khaleda Zia, Kazi Shah Mofazzal Hossain Kaikobad, a BNP lawmaker, Brig Gen (retd) Rezzaqul Haider Chowdhury, then DGFI director, Brig Gen (retd) Abdur Rahim, then NSI DG, Mohammad Hanif, owner of Hanif Paribahan, and BNP leader Ariful Islam Arif, also a former councillor of Dhaka City Corporation.

The nine have been charged with conspiring and approving the plan of the attack executed by Huji men and their accomplices.

Charge: Grievous hurt, attempt to murder, murder, abetment & criminal liability

Accused: Huji founder Abdus Salam, Huji leaders Maulana Sheikh Farid, Maulana AbdurRouf, Maulana Abdul Hannan Sabbir, Kashmir-based Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) leader Abdul Malek alias Golam Mohammad, Pakistan-based LeT leader Yusuf Butt alias Majid Butt, Mufti Shafiqur Rahman, Mufti Abdul Hai, Hafez Maulana Yahya, Babu alias RatulBabu, Mohibullah alias Mafizur Rahman alias Ovi, Maulana Abu Sayeed alias Dr Abu Zafar, Abul Kalam Azad alias Bulbul, Jahangir Alam, Maulana Abu Taher, Shahadatullah Jewel, Hossain Ahmed Tamim, Mufti Moinuddin Sheikh alias Abu Zandal alias Masum Billah, Arif Hasan Sumon, Rafiqul Islam Sabuj, Mohammad Ujjal alias Ratan, Maulana Tajuddin, Maulana Liton, AnisulMursalin and his brother MahibulMuttakin, Md Iqbal, Maulana Abu Bakar alias Selim Howlader, Jahangir AlamBadar and Khalilur Rahman.

The twenty-nine have been charged with causing grievous hurt, attempt to murder, murder, abetment and criminal liability.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News