Stars to battle for reserved seats for women in parliament | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 18, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 10:43 AM, January 18, 2019

Stars to battle for reserved seats for women in parliament

Selling of nomination forms to aspirants for reserved seats for women in the 11th parliament, kicked off on January 15. A number of popular faces were spotted collecting their nomination forms. Following is a special report on women artistes who intend to fight for the reserved seats.

Celebrated actor Moushumi collected her nomination form accompanied by the President of the Directors' Guild Association and member of the censor board, Mushfiqur Rahman Gulzar. Her husband, Omar Sani, made the announcement on social media and she held a press conference in this regard recently.

Actor Rokeya Prachy, who competed for nomination for the Feni-3 constituency on behalf of Awami League (AL), also collected her form for reserved seats. Shomi Kaiser, one of television's most adored faces, also bought a form for the same.

Tarin was one of the many celebrities who participated in the election campaign for the AL in the General Elections last year. She has also collected her nomination form.

Sarah Begum Kobori was elected as a member of parliament from the Narayanganj- 4 constituency as an AL politician in 2008 and served till 2014. This time as well, she bought her nomination form for the reserved seats. Similarly, Aruna Biswas, who played an active role in the election campaign for AL, is hopeful for a seat in the parliament this time.

Other celebrities, who are set to contest for the reserved seats for women include, Apu Biswas, Anjana, Dilara, Falguni Hamid, Jyotika Jyoti, Shahnoor, Suborna Mustafa and Sujata.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News