Election at Obhinoy Shilpi Shongho today | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, June 21, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:05 AM, June 21, 2019

Election at Obhinoy Shilpi Shongho today

Comprising mostly of artistes from the television arena, the biennial election for the Obhinoy Shilpi Shongho is set to commence today from 9 am onwards. The polling will continue till 5 pm at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA).

Reputed actor Khairul Alam Shabuj has been assigned as the Chief Election Commissioner, while playwrights Brindabon Das and Masum Aziz will assist him as election committee members.

As of recently, the election campaigns have been running quite extensively. Regarding the campaign, the candidates were seen at various locations across the capital, including Baily Road, BSA, Mogbazaar Media Goli among other places. Many have also taken to the social media to run their campaigns.

At today’s Obhinoy Shilpi Shongho election, Shahiduzzaman Selim, Tushar Khan and Shamim Visti will be contesting for the presidential seat. Ahsan Habib Nasim and Abdul Hannan are competing for the post of the General Secretary.

Renowned actors who are set to compete at the elections this year, include the likes of Zakia Bari Mamo, Azad Abdul Kalam, Nadia Ahmed, Bonna Mirza, Rawnak Hasan, Anisur Rahman Milon, Sumana Soma, Swagata and others.

Lutfar Rahman George was elected as the Organisational Secretary as he had no opposition in the election. The winners of today’s elections will run Obhinoy Shilpi Shongho for the next two years.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News