Mustafizur out as Bangladesh sent to bat first

Toss in the second ODI between Bangladesh and Ireland. Photo: Firoz Ahmed

Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie sent Bangladesh in to bat in the second match of the three-match series at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Monday.

Bangladesh had batted first in the first match, too, which they won by a record 183 runs after having posted a record 338 runs. 

Bangladesh rested Mustafizur Rahman as Hasan Mahmud took his place. Debut for Mathew Humphreys who replaces Gareth Delaney.

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal, who turns 34 today, will also look to personally recover from a lean patch of form. The left-handed batter did not have a great series against England and started the Ireland series on the wrong foot, scoring just one run in the opening match.

A win today will ensure another home ODI series victory for the Tigers. 

There was rain in the morning before sun shone. However, there are forecasts for afternoon shower.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Litton Das, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Yasir Ali, 7 Towhid Hridoy, 8 Taskin Ahmed, 9 Ebadot Hossain, 10 Nasum Ahmed, 11 Hasan Mahmud

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Stephen Doheny, 3 Andrew Balbirnie, 4 Harry Tector, 5 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 6 Matthew Humphreys, 7 George Dockrell, 8 Curtis Campher, 9 Andy McBrine, 10 Mark Adair, 11 Graham Hume