Umpires spoil Tigers' hope for semis | The Daily Star
02:44 PM, March 19, 2015 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:26 PM, March 24, 2015

Controversial umpiring greatly mars Bangladesh's hope for semis

Star Online Report

Several umpiring decisions during the second quarter-final match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground have shocked Bangladesh cricket supporters all over.

The potentially turning point of the match was witnessed by millions across the world as Ian Gould no-balled Rubel Hossain for a seemingly waist-high full toss in the 40th over of the match.

Rohit Sharma clubbed away the delivery almost instinctively towards deep midwicket where the outfielder came forward to claim the catch.

To the dismay of Bangladesh supporters, umpire Ian Gould called out a no-ball and reprieved Rohit Sharma and India’s chances of a huge score.

When the replay was shown, the error in Ian Gould’s judgment became apparent with repeated viewing as the ball was dipping sharply when the batsman made contact.

Rohit Sharma was batting on 91 when he became the beneficiary of this dubious decision, and went on to score 137 runs for his team.

Earlier in the 34th over, Mashrafe’s LBW shout was turned down by Ian Gould when replays showed majority of the ball had pitched in line with the stumps.

 

 

Mashrafe was quick to call for a review but the third umpire ruled in favor of the batsman, Suresh Raina who was batting on ten runs.

He went on to make 65 and pushed India’s score beyond 300 against our Tigers.

When Bangladesh was batting, their supporters once again found reasons for frustration when batsman Mahmudullah was given out in the 17th over.

Mahmudullah pulled Mohammed Shami’s short ball and it flew off the top edge. As Shikhar Dhawan was in the middle of a juggling act, the ball popped out of his hands when he tried to grab it using a reverse-cup technique . He regrouped quickly, took the catch in second attempt but his left foot was precariously close to the rope. From various camera angles, it looked like his foot touched the boundary rope, however the third umpire ruled in favour of the fielding team.

Leave your Comments

ADVERTISEMENT
Top