BPL 2019: Steve Smith joins Comilla Victorians | The Daily Star
08:12 PM, November 27, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:09 PM, November 27, 2018

Smith joins Comilla Victorians

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) outfit Comilla Victorians signed Australia’s disgraced former skipper Steve Smith for the upcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), scheduled to start on January 5 next year, Victorians coach Mohammad Salahuddin confirmed to The Daily Star today.

The former Australia captain will, however, only be available after his franchise's first four matches, the coach informed.

Smith has played in T20 tournaments since being relieved of his duties as the Australia Captain following the ball-tampering scandal which raised storms in Australian cricket.

The right-handed batsman had featured for Barbados Tridents in the CPL this season after Shakib Al Hasan pulled out of the tournament.

Smith will join foreign stars such as Shoaib Malik, Evin Lewis, Thisara Perera and Shahid Afridi who are set to make their mark for Comilla Victorians in this season’s razzle-dazzle tournament.

Former Australia vice-captain David Warner, who too was involved in the tampering scandal, earlier joined Sylhet Sixers.

Comilla Victorians:

Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Steve Smith, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoaib Malik, Asela Gunaratne, Liam Dawson, Amin Yamin, Evin Lewis, Waqar Salamkheil, Shamsur Rahman, Sanjit Saha, Mosharraf Hossain, Mohammad Shahid, Shahid Afridi, Thisara Perera, Abu Haider Rony, Anamul Haque, Mehedi Hasan and Ziaur Rahman

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News