BUET becomes champion at UIU VLSI Day 2022

BUET becomes champion

Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE), United International University (UIU) recently organised a Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) design competition titled "VLSI Day 2022". The award ceremony took place on October 26, 2022 at  the UIU Campus located in United City, Madani Avenue, Dhaka.

A total of 26 teams from 9 public and private universities of the country participated in the competition. Only 15 teams were selected for the final round. Team 5 from BUET won the first prize of BDT 2,00,000 BDT, while Team 2 from UIU got the second prize of BDT 1,00,000 and Team 1 from UIU received the third prize of BDT 50,000. 

NM Zeaul Alam PAA, Senior Secretary, ICT Division, Government of Bangladesh was present as the chief guest and handed over the trophies to the winning teams. Moinuddin Hasan Rashid, Chairman and  Managing Director, United Group; Malik Talha Ismail Bari, Member, BoT of UIU; Prof. Dr. M Rezwan Khan, Former VC of UIU and Prof. Dr. A.B.M. Harun ur Rashid, Department of EEE, BUET were present as the special guests in the program. Prof. Dr. Md. Abul Kashem Mia, VC (In-Charge) of UIU, presided over the ceremony.

Mr. Md Shakhawat Hossain, Chief Executive Officer, Neural Semiconductor Ltd., Mr. Abdul Mubin Ahmed, Senior Director, Ulkasemi Ltd. and Mr. Mojahedul Hoque Abul Hasanat, Chief Technology Officer & Chairman, Dynamic Solution Innovators spoke in the programme as well.  

The chief guest, NM Zeaul Alam, said, "As far as I know, VLSI Design Competition organised by UIU is the first of its kind in Bangladesh. At present VLSI is an essential subject. For this, the government, academics and industries should jointly work together. If it is implemented, the economy of Bangladesh will be more prosperous, which will play an important role in building smart Bangladesh by 2041."

He also assured cooperation at all levels from the Government of Bangladesh in the development of the VLSI sector.

Deans of different faculties, heads of departments, faculty members, officials, students and distinguished guests were present in the program.