Sircar, Moudud win by-polls | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 03, 2009 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, April 03, 2009

Sircar, Moudud win by-polls

Rawshan Ershad, 3 AL candidates also elected unofficially

Ansar members and policemen stand guard at Robertsonsganj High School polling centre in Rangpur yesterday afternoon. The centre witnessed a very poor turnout in the by-election.Photo: STAR

Former speaker of parliament and BNP leader Jamiruddin Sircar and former BNP law minister Moudud Ahmed won yesterday's by-election to two Bogra constituencies while ruling Awami League (AL) candidates won in three seats.
The JP won in Rangpur-3, which too was vacated by its Chairman HM Ershad. The party rejected the election results of Kurigram-2, complaining that AL activists did not allow its poll agents at polling centres.
The by-poll for the vacant Jatiya Sangsad seats was marked by poor voter turnout. Female voters were remarkably absent from voting.
Abul Kalam Azad, Nazmul Hasan Papan and Zafar Ali of the AL won in Rangpur-6, Kishoreganj-6 and Kurigram-2 constituencies while Sircar and Moudud won in Bogra-6 and Bogra-7. JP's Rawshan Ershad won in Rangpur-3.
Golam Habib Dulal, JP candidate in Kurigram-2, rejected the poll results and alleged that AL activists did not let his polling agents be present in at least 30 centres.
BNP leaders also alleged that ruling party cadres did not allow polling agents of its candidate in the seat at a few centres.
After yesterday's by-election, the JP has lost one seat in parliament to the AL as it won in one of two vacated seats. In the December 29 election, the JP got 27 seats while the AL got 230 seats.
Voting started at 8:00am in Kishoreganj-6, Rangpur-3, Rangpur-6, Kurigram-2, Bogra-6 and Bogra-7.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina vacated Rangpur-6 and Bagerhat-1 seats, BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia vacated Bogra-6 and Bogra-7, and Ershad vacated Rangpur-3 and Kurigram-2 after winning all three constituencies they were contesting each in the December 29 parliamentary elections.
President Zillur Rahman had vacated Kishoreganj-6 after he was elected president of Bangladesh.
Hasina's cousin Sheikh Helal Uddin was declared elected uncontested to Bagerhat-1 on March 17.
Meanwhile, five persons were arrested in Bogra-6 and Bogra-7 constituencies on charges including violation of electoral laws, reports our correspondent in Bogra. City High School polling office handed over one to police for campaigning for the BNP candidate.
Voting at a few of the 256 centres in the two seats was marked by clashes, chase and counter-chase between activists of the AL and BNP. Police charged truncheons to control the situation at Sadar upazila Ebtedayee Madrasa centre.
Our Rangpur correspondent reports poor turnout of voters in Rangpur-2 and Rangpur-6 constituencies. Presiding officers of many centres told The Daily Star that the presence of female voters was significantly poor.
JP Chairman Ershad told newsmen at his Rangpur residence in the afternoon that a lot of BNP men on motorbikes took voters to the centres although use of any vehicle for carrying voters is strictly prohibited.
Although voting was quite peaceful in Kishoreganj-6 constituency, voter turnout was very thin, reports a correspondent there.
Two BNP men were injured in post-election violence at Kuliarchar in the district.
Our correspondent in Kurigram said no enthusiasm was noticed among people about the by-poll in Kurigram-2 constituency.
Central BNP leader Rizvi Ahmed at a press briefing alleged that ruling party's cadres drove away BNP candidate's polling agents from a few polling centres. JP candidate Golam Habib Dulal at another press briefing said AL activists did not allow presence of his polling agents at 30 centres.
Barrister Jamiruddin Sircar won in Bogra-6 constituency, securing 1,39,531 votes. His nearest contestant AL's Momtazuddin got 53,470 votes.
In Bogra-7, BNP's Moudud Ahmed won with 1,75,793 votes while his nearest candidate was AL's Mostofa Alam Nannu with 97,257 votes.
In Kurigram-2, AL's Zafar Ali got 1,40,748 votes while JP's Golam Habib Dulal got 46,619 votes.
AL's Nazmul Hasan Papan won in Kishoreganj-6, securing 1,06,137 votes; his rival BNP's Shariful Alam got 68,327 votes.
In Rangpur-3, JP candidate Rawshan Ershad got 87,847 votes while BNP's Rahimuddin Varosha got 25,524 votes.
In Rangpur-6, AL's Abul Kalam Azad got 1,12,015 votes. Nearest to him was BNP's Nur Mohammad Mondol with 36,067 votes.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News