BPL’s 3rd edition inaugurated thru colorful opening ceremony | The Daily Star
09:55 PM, November 20, 2015 / LAST MODIFIED: 10:00 PM, November 20, 2015

BPL’s 3rd edition inaugurated thru colorful opening ceremony

The third edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 cricket started this evening through a colorful ceremony at the home of cricket Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital’s Mirpur area.

The ceremony started at 5:30pm with the dance of local artist Sadia Islam Mou.

Stars of silver screen and singers from India and Bangladesh performed in the opening show that enthralled the cricket mad people on the big bowl.

Bangladesh Premier League 2015 inauguration Singer KK from India alongside a number of local artists from Bangladesh will also feature in the big-budget opening ceremony. Local bands LRB and Chirkut and one of the most popular singers of the country Mamtaz will also showcase their performance in the four-hour ceremony. There will be a couple of laser shows as well to draw fan's attraction in the six-team of BPL.

The much-awaited segment for the spectators finally comes when Bollywood sensation, the Krrish star Hrithic Roshan and Sri Lanka-born heroine Jacqueline Fernandez rock the stage. Jacqueline Fernandez is, mostly known for her glamorous presence in the films like Murder 2, Race 2, Houseful 2.

The gala opening ceremony will conclude with massive fireworks.

Meanwhile, the BPL matches will begin on Sunday (November 22) at the SBNCS with Rangpur Riders will take on Chittagong Vikings at 2 pm while Dhaka Dynamites play against Comilla Victorians in the day's other opening day's fixture at 6.45pm.

Most of the BPL matches are scheduled to be held at Mirpur, but a few matches will be played at Chittagong as well.

According to the schedule, two matches will be played on every match day. The first match will start at 2:00pm while the second match at 6:45pm in the evening (Bangladesh Standard Time (BST).

On completion of league basis group matches, four top teams will play in the semifinals.

The first and second ranked teams will play the first semifinal match and the winner will progress to the final directly.

The third and the fourth teams will play in the eliminator round and the winner will advance to play in the second qualifier match against the loser of the first semifinal.

The winner of the second qualifier will play the final against the winner of the first semifinal.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News