1988 Chattogram mass killing: 5 ex-police officials to die -Daily Star
04:00 PM, January 20, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:22 PM, January 20, 2020

5 ex-cops to die in Chattogram mass killing case

A Chattogram court today sentenced five former police officials to death in the mass killing case of 1988.

The convicted are Prodip Barua, Mustafizur Rahman, Shah Md Abdullah, Momtaj Uddin and JC Mandal.

The court of Chattogram District and Session Judge Md Ismail Hossain delivered the verdict this afternoon.

Among the convicts, JC Mandal, who is the former patrol inspector of Chattogram Kotwali area, is absconding.

Three of the eight accused in the case had already passed away.

The attack happened on January 24, 1988 when Awami League President and incumbent Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was proceeding in a procession to Laldighi Maidan in the port city, leaving 24 persons dead.


Police opened fire at a procession of the then Awami League-led alliance that killed at least 24 people in the port city on January 24, 1988 during the Ershad regime.

When the procession with a truck carrying AL President Sheikh Hasina reached Old Bangladesh Bank area near the venue, police started charging batons and shooting, prosecution said. The truck’s helper, Abdul Mannan, was shot dead on the spot, it added. The victims were first taken to General Hospital and later to Balurdighi crematorium where journalists were not allowed.

On October 14, 1999, CID submitted a supplementary charge sheet accusing eight persons -- then police commissioner Mirza Rakibul Huda; Inspector Gobinda Chandra Mondal alias JC Mandal; constables Mostafizur Rahman, Prodip Barua, Momtaj Uddin, Shah Md Abdullah, Abdus Salam and Bashir Uddin.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News