12:00 AM, January 10, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:05 AM, January 10, 2019

BNP's Sattar bags B'baria-2

Defeats his rival by over 10,000 votes

BNP candidate Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan has been elected in Brahmanbaria-2 following yesterday's re-polling in three centres of the constituency.

Sattar bagged 1,274 votes yesterday and won with a total of 83,997 votes.

His closest rival Moyeen Uddin, an independent, bagged a total of 75,419.

Sattar had already been leading the polls with 82,723 votes, said Election Commission officials.

The number of constituents under the centres was 10,572. Only 4,300 voted yesterday, said Returning Officer Hayat-Ud-Dwollah Khan as he announced the unofficial result.

There were a total 132 polling centres in Brahmanbaria-2.

Voting was suspended in three centres during the December 30 election due to violence. The centres are Jatrapur Government Primary School, Bahadurpur Government Primary School and Sohagpur Dakkhin Government Primary School.

Including this, eight lawmakers have been elected from the BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront. The Awami League-led alliance won 288 seats.

Leave your comments