Saad Ershad wins Rangpur by-polls | Daily Star
12:00 AM, October 06, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:02 AM, October 06, 2019

Rangpur by-polls

Saad Ershad wins his father’s seat

HM Ershad’s son Rahgir Al Mahi Saad Ershad won the by-polls in Rangpur-3 constituency yesterday, according to unofficial results.

He bagged 58,878 votes while his nearest rival BNP’s Rita Rahman secured 16,947 votes, the results showed last night.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Independent candidate Shahriar Asif, Ershad’s nephew who was expelled from the JP for breaching party discipline, bagged 14,984 votes while Kazi Mohammad Shahidullah of Gono Front got 1,662.

As many as 924 people voted for Touhidur Rahman Mondal of Khelafat Majlish and 611 for Shafiul Alam of National People’s Party, the results showed.

Earlier in the day, the voting started at 9:00am and continued till 4:00pm. 

A total of 94,006 out of 4,41,224 voters cast their ballots at 175 centres.

Returning Officer GM Sahatab Uddin said the turnout was 21.30 percent.

Voting was peaceful as there was no reports of any violence.

The Daily Star correspondent visited 15 centres and came to learn from presiding officers that the turnout was around 12 percent till 2:00pm.

No long queue of voters was seen at any of the centres.

The centres included ones at Begum Rokeya College, Radhaballab Government Primary School, Collectorate School and College, Tozammel Hossain Memorial Shishumongal Government Primary School, Dedaba Jamalia Government Primary School, Borobari Government Primary School and Jaheda Khatun Girls School.

The turnout at Dedaba Jamalia Government Primary School centre was 12 percent till 2:00pm, said Presiding Officer Md Azizar Rahman.

At the centre at Government Begum Rokeya College, only 223 out of 2,011 voters cast their votes, said Presiding Officer Kamal Pasha, adding that the turnout there was 11.08 percent.

Rangpur-3 constituency fell vacant after JP Chairman HM Ershad died on  July 14.

Rangpur is known as a stronghold of the JP. Ershad became lawmaker from there in the national elections in 1991, 2008, 2014, 2018. 

His widow Rawshan Ershad and brother GM Quader was also elected lawmakers from the district.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News