Ekushey Padak goes to 21 persons
12:00 AM, February 09, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:48 AM, February 09, 2018

21 named for Ekushey Padak

The government has named 21 winners of this year's Ekushey Padak for contributions in their respective fields.

An official release from the cultural affairs ministry disclosed the names yesterday.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Ekushey Padak, the country's second highest civilian award, to the awardees at Osmani Memorial Auditorium on February 20.

The winners are AZM Takiullah (posthumous) and Mirza Mazharul Islam (language movement); Sheikh Sadi Khan, Shujeo Shyam, Indra Mohan Rajbanshi, Khurshid Alam and Motiul Haque Khan (music); Minu Haque (dance); Humayun Faridi (posthumous) (acting); Nikhil Sen (drama); Kalidas Karmakar (fine arts); Golam Mostofa (photography); Ranesh Moitro (journalism); Julekha Haque (posthumous) (research); Mainul Islam (economics); Ilias Kanchan (social service) and Syed Manzoorul Islam, Saiful Islam Khan (poet Hayat Saef), Subrata Barua, Robiul Hussain and Khalekdad Chowdhury (language and literature).

Each recipient will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of Tk 2 lakh.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News