The 10 Bangladesh players registered for IPL auctions | The Daily Star
01:55 AM, December 07, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:57 AM, December 07, 2018

The 10 Bangladesh players registered for IPL auctions

The 2019 IPL players auctions is set to take place on December 18 and Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) registered the names of 10 Bangladesh cricketers who wants to feature in the upcoming edition of the tournament.

Bangladesh Test and T20 skipper Shakib Al Hasan has already been retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad and the all-rounder was one of the tournament’s bargain buys last season -- his services acquired at RS 2 Crore. While Shakib was retained by Sunrisers again, Mustafizur Rahman was released by three-time champions Mumbai Indians. The left-armer’s name was not given for registration this time around possibly as BCB are still worried about his injury situation.

The IPL Player Registration closed on Tuesday with 1003 players, including 232 overseas cricketers signing up for the T20 tournament, who will be aiming to fulfill the 70 available spots.

The biggest surprise amongst the names of the Bangladesh players in the BCB list was 17-year-old Nayeem Hasan, the world-record holder for being the youngest player to bag five wickets in Test debut. The other eight cricketers are Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Abu Hider and explosive opener Liton Das.

The upcoming edition of the IPL -- the 12th edition of the money-spinning T20 league, is scheduled to start on March 29 next year (2019). Franchises will now have time until 10th December (5pm IST) to submit their shortlist of players after which the names of the 70 players who will fill the remaining available spots will be revealed.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News