Rumana makes ICC's World XI | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 01, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:14 AM, January 01, 2019

Rumana makes ICC's World XI

2018 did not end very well for the Bangladesh women's team following a poor showing at the ICC Women's World T20 in West Indies in November. However, the year will always be remembered as a special one for the Tigresses as their biggest achievement till date came in June when they became the champions of Asia by defeating India by three wickets in the Women's T20 Asia Cup final.

Aside from all other accomplishments, Bangladesh T20 captain Rumana Ahmed has her own special reason to remember the year as she became the first Bangladesh women's team player to be selected for the ICC T20I Team of the Year.

Rumana had an excellent year, especially with the ball as she was in second position in the wicket-takers' list in T20Is, scalping 30 wickets in 24 matches.

The 27-year old was also instrumental in Bangladesh's Asia Cup triumph, finishing as the tournament's second-highest wicket-taker with 10 wickets from six matches.

However, Rumana expressed her disappointment at not being able to carry their Asia Cup form into the T20 World Cup.

“It has been a good year considering all aspects, both batting and bowling for me, as well as the team. So it feels really good,” Rumana said. “Our confidence took a beating as we could not do well in the World Cup but this also acts as a motivation to do better. If we try and work hard, we can do better in 2019.”

Rumana also mentioned the need to get more playing time next year.

“There was a huge lacking in our temperament. Actually I don't want to see it as a mistake as it [temperament] gets better if we play more. We will get more experienced the more we play and the more time we spend on the field.”

ICC Women's T20I team of 2018:

Smriti Mandhana (India), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain), Natalie Sciver (England), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ashleigh Gardner (Australia), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Megan Schutt (Australia), Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh), Poonam Yadav (India)

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News