MSC stretch winning streak
12:00 AM, March 16, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:06 AM, March 16, 2019

MSC stretch winning streak

Shafiul Islam hit the last ball from left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny for a boundary as Mohammedan Sporting Club posted a one-wicket victory over Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club in a Dhaka Premier League match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur yesterday.

However, it was number eight batsman Sohag Gazi who ensured that Mohammedan's winning spree stretched to three consecutive victories as his blistering 51-ball 70-run innings helped the side recover from 125 for seven and chase down Prime Doleshwar's 248 for eight total.

Gazi launched a counterattack after a top order hiccup as the right-hander smote three fours and six sixes during his match-winning knock after taking one wicket for 37 runs in 10 overs.  When Forhad Reza trapped Gazi in front, Mohammedan required four runs from ten balls with one wicket in hand and Shafiul made sure Gazi's valiant effort would not go in vain.

Earlier, Marshal Ayub (68) and Taibur Rahman (72 not out) guided Doleshwar to a fighting total.

At BKSP-3, Gazi Group Cricketers rode on pacer Kamrul Islam's five-for to register a three-wicket victory over Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity. Khelaghar were bundled out for 138 runs, a total which Gazi overtook in 39.5 overs, courtesy of Shamsur Rahman and Parvez Rasool. Shamsur hit 51 off 77 balls while Parvez contributed with an unbeaten 59 off 79 balls.

Elsewhere, Sumon Khan took four wickets after Mahmudul Hasan's 66 as BKSP posted a 20-run win against Uttara Sporting Club at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

Uttara were all out for 181 runs in reply to BKSP's 201 for eight.


Prime Doleshwar: 248 for 8 in 50 overs (Farhad 19, Jashimuddin 20, Marshall 68, Taibur 72 not out; Shafiul 3-64, Alauddin 3-49)
Mohammedan: 251 for 9 in 50 overs (Tushar 19, Irfan 30, Nadif 30, Shohag 70, Alauddin 38; Reza 4-55, Shykat 2-52, Nasim 2-28)
Result: Mohammedan won by one wicket.
Khelaghar: 133 all out in 47.5 overs (Mahidul 57, Nazimuddin 21; Mahedi 2-18, Kamrul 5-24)
Gazi Group: 142 for 7 in 39.5 overs (Shamsur 51, Rasool 59 not out; Robiul 5-41 )
Result: Gazi Group won by 3 wickets.
BKSP: 201 for 8 in 50 overs (Mahmudul 66, Kayium 19, Shamim 22, Aminul 33, Parvez 27 not out; Nahid 2-30, Gaffar 2-34)
Uttara: 181 all out in 49 overs (Jony 25, Raza 51, Shakhir 50; Naser 2-23, Sumon 4-41, Murad 2-30)
Result: BKSP won by 20 runs.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News