A first loss for MSC and a BKSP run-fest
12:00 AM, March 20, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:06 AM, March 20, 2019

A first loss for MSC and a BKSP run-fest

Prime Bank skipper Anamul Haque continued his good run of form, scoring yet another century -- his second ton in succession in this edition of the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) -- to help his side post a mammoth 344 for six against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club and win by 29 runs in a rain-interrupted game at the BKSP-3 ground yesterday. However, Abhimanyu Easwaran -- one of three Indians who shone on the day -- also scored a magnificent century to help Prime Bank's cause.

At the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, despite a 126-ball 107 from opener Abdul Mazid, Mohammedan Sporting Club experienced their first defeat of this edition of the DPL as they could not defend a challenging 295 for seven, losing the game by four wickets against Legends of Rupganj.

However, it was a rather low-scoring contest at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah as Abahani Limited chased down a modest 203 for nine posted by Shinepukur Cricket Club -- courtesy of India Test cricketer Wasim Jaffer's 76 runs off 106 balls -- and won the game by five wickets with nine balls to spare.

The BKSP-3 ground had previously produced a few high-scoring contests in this tournament and the run fest seemed to continue. After being asked to bat first, Prime Bank recovered from their initial blow -- losing opener Rubel Mia for a duck in the third over -- with an inspired 194-run second-wicket stand between skipper Anamul and Easwaran. In the first ball of the 38th over of the game, Sheikh Jamal spinner Tanbir Hayder dispatched Anamul for a 120-ball 101 before scalping the wicket of Zakir Hasan for a first-ball duck in the last ball of the same over. However, Easwaran's 126-ball 133 and an unbeaten, late 32-ball 67-run cameo from all-rounder Ariful Haque ensured Prime Bank finished on a high.

However, in chase of a rain-reduced 236-run target from 37.1 overs, Sheikh Jamal all-rounder Nasir Hossain's run-a-ball 76 and skipper Nurul Hasan's unbeaten 54 went in vain as they could manage only 206 for four.

In Fatullah, Abahani opener Wasim scored a half-ton to ensure a comfortable victory for his side after pacer Rubel Hossain's economical figures of two for 28 in eight overs and Mosaddek Hossain's three for 41 helped bundle Shinepukur for a below-par total.

In the other game, Mohammedan opener Mazid's valiant century was later trumped by Rupganj skipper Naeem Islam's 85 and 51 runs from Rishi Dhawan -- who had played three ODIs for India -- as Rupganj chased the challenging total.



344 for 6 in 50 overs (Anamul 101, Easwaran 133, Ariful 67 not out; Tanbir 2-27)

SHEIKH JAMAL: 206 for four in 37.1 overs (Nasir 76, Nurul 54 not out; Nahidul 2-51)

Result: Prime Bank won by 29 runs (D/L method)


203 for 9 in 50 overs (Afif 48, Towhid 39; Mosaddek 3-41, Rubel 2-28)

ABAHANI: 206 for five in 48.3 overs (Wasim 76, Najmul 42; Shoriful 3-44)

Result: Abahani won by 5 wickets. 


295 for 7 in 50 overs (Mazid 107, Nadif 64; Shahid 3-70)

RUPGANJ: 296 for six in 49.2 overs (Mominul 55, Naeem 85, Dhawan 51; Shafiul 2-65)

Result: Rupganj won by 4 wickets.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News