Dinajpur win second crown | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, March 28, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:42 AM, March 28, 2019

Dinajpur win second crown

Dinajpur District won their second National Cricket Championship (NCC) through a four-wicket triumph over Mymensingh District in the final of the 39th edition of the tournament at the SKCS-2 ground in Cox's Bazaar yesterday.

After being asked to bat first, Mymensingh suffered a top order collapse, losing three wickets for just seven runs in 3.5 overs. However, a 56-run fourth-wicket partnership between Asaduzzaman Prince and Mussadek Hossain steadied the ship somewhat before the former departed for 18 runs off 32 balls in the 18th over. Musaddek, who scored a team high 56-ball 38, was the next one to fall. After that Mymensingh kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were eventually bundled out in just 38.5 overs for a paltry 128.  

In chase, after a 30-run opening stand between Prottoy Kundu and Susanto Debnath, Dinajpur lost three quick wickets in the span of just 13 balls, adding just eight runs and were left on 38 for three in 10 overs. Arif Reza's 54-ball 46, which saw five boundaries, helped Mymensingh reach the target in just 29.2 overs. Arif, who was named player-of-the-match, was also instrumental with the ball earlier as he returned figures of one for 24 in six overs.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News