Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury elected speaker of 11th National Parliament
03:41 PM, January 30, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:57 PM, January 30, 2019

Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury sworn in as Speaker of 11th Jatiya Sangsad

Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury today was sworn in as the Speaker of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad after she was elected as the Speaker for the record third consecutive term in the country’s history.

Shirin Sharmin was sworn in by President Abdul Hamid at his office in the parliament.

Earlier today, the attending lawmakers of the newly-formed 11th parliament unanimously elected Shirin Sharmin, the lone candidate, by voice vote as Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah, who was presiding the session, placed it for endorsement.

Also read: Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury Liton made chief whip of 11th parliament

The MPs, including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, shouted 'yes' in favour of the proposal made by Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader and seconded by newly appointed Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury Liton.

The assembly started the session for the Speaker election on the first day of the inaugural session of the 11th parliament formed through the general election held on December 30 last year.

The maiden session of the new parliament began at 3:00pm with Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah in the chair as the outgoing Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was the Speaker candidate.

Immediately after the election, the sitting was adjourned for 20 minutes.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News