BNP to hold nationwide demo on Dec 30: Fakhrul | The Daily Star
11:02 PM, December 21, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 11:04 PM, December 21, 2020

BNP to hold nationwide demo on Dec 30: Fakhrul

BNP will hold demonstrations across the country on December 30, marking the second anniversary of the 11th parliamentary election.

BNP standing committee members at a virtual meeting on Saturday worked out the programme to register the party's protest against the last general election.

Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, the party's secretary general, announced the programme today at a press conference at BNP Chairperson's Gulshan office.

"December 30 will mark the second anniversary of that dark day. People of Bangladesh remember this day with anger and hatred," he said.

The BNP leader said their party leaders and activists will hold demonstrations in all district towns and metropolitan cities on December 30 at 11:00am, demanding cancellation of 2018 elections and arranging re-election.

In Dhaka, he said their party's Dhaka south and north units will jointly hold a rally in front of the Jatiya Press Club at 11:00am that day.

Fakhrul said the party's standing committee meeting thinks the government's plan over the coronavirus vaccine collection and distribution is not clear to people.

"Vaccine collection, its storage, transportation and distribution must be done with utmost importance," Fakhrul said.

He said the BNP standing committee meeting feels that it is necessary to formulate a roadmap on these issues without any delay and make it clear to people with a view to ensuring accountability in all cases and people's health safety.

Fakhrul said the meeting also expressed anger over the Election Commission's failure to ensure proper election atmosphere in the elections to municipalities that are being held in different phases.

The BNP secretary general also said their meeting voiced frustration as the government did not disclose to the public the details of some of the agreements signed during the virtual meeting between Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 17.

Apart from Fakhrul, BNP standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku were present at the virtual meeting held with BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman in the chair.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News