3 MPs ordered to leave area before UZ polls

4th phase Upazila elections

Election Commission has ordered three lawmakers to leave their constituencies immediately for violating polls code ahead of upazila election.

The commission came up with the emergency decision this afternoon centring the fourth phase of upazila polls slated for tomorrow.

The lawmakers are Anwarul Abedin Khan of Mymensingh-9, Ranjit Kumar Roy of Jashore-4 and Ekramul Karim Chowdhury of Noakhali-4.

Separate notices signed by the Deputy Secretary of Election Commission Secretariat Atiar Rahman were sent to the MPs today in this regard.

According to the electoral code of conduct, lawmakers cannot take part in election campaigns in upazila parishad elections.

As per the provision, a lawmaker is only allowed to enter a poll centre to cast his vote.

Notwithstanding, a number of lawmakers stayed in their constituencies, which is a violation of the code of conducts.

So far, the Commission has asked 20 lawmakers to leave their respective constituencies on a note of caution from the first phase to the fourth phase of the elections.

Elections to 107 upazilas to be held tomorrow in the fourth phase.

The elections, boycotted by BNP and some other major political parties, have seen a low voter turnout so far and stray incidents of violence.


সিরাজুল আলম খান
৮ ঘণ্টা আগে|শ্রদ্ধাঞ্জলি

‘কাপালিক’ থেকে ‘দাদা ভাই’: রহস্যময় সিরাজুল আলম খান

তিনি ছিলেন স্বাধীন বাংলাদেশ গড়ে তোলার স্বপ্ন-সংগ্রাম ও স্বাধীনতা পরবর্তী রাজনৈতিক মেরুকরণের অন্যতম নিয়ামক শক্তি। তিনি যেভাবে চেয়েছেন, যা করতে চেয়েছেন, তাই করেননি—করিয়েছেন।