Newly elected Rajshahi, Sylhet city mayors take oath | Daily Star
12:01 PM, September 05, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:28 PM, September 05, 2018

Newly elected mayors of Rajshahi, Sylhet sworn in

Newly elected mayors of Rajshahi and Sylhet city corporations AHM Khairuzzaman Liton and Ariful Haque Chowdhury took oath of office today.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oath at a ceremony held at the Shapla Hall of her office. 

Later, 76 newly elected councillors from general wards and reserved seats of the two city corporations were also sworn in at the same venue. Of them, 40 councillors are from Rajshahi and 36 from Sylhet. 

Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Khandker Mosharraf Hossain administered the oath to the councillors. Local Government Division Senior Secretary Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath-taking ceremony. 

Finance Minister AMA Muhith and Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader were present.

The elections to Rajshahi City Corporation and Sylhet City Corporation were held on July 30 last.

Awami League mayoral candidate AHM Khairuzzaman Liton was elected in Rajshahi city, while BNP mayoral candidate Ariful Haque Chowdhury sealed the victory in Sylhet city

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News