President regularises appointment of 18 additional HC judges | The Daily Star
01:21 AM, May 30, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:24 AM, May 30, 2020

President regularises appointment of 18 additional HC judges

President Md Abdul Hamid has confirmed the service of 18 additional judges of the High Court, who were appointed two years ago.

The law ministry yesterday issued a gazette notification to this effect saying that the president regularised the appointment of the High Court judges in consultation with the chief justice as per the constitution of the republic.

The confirmation will come into effect from the date of taking oath by the judges, according to the gazette notification.

The 18 judges are: Justice Md Abu Ahmed Jamadar, Justice Md Mostafizur Rahman, Justice Fatema Najib, Justice Md Kamrul Hossain Molla, Justice SM Kuddus Zaman, Justice Md Atowar Rahman, Justice SM Abdul Mobin, Justice  Khizir Hayat, Justice Shashanka Shekhar Sarkar, Justice Mohammad Ali, Justice Mohi Uddin Shamim, Justice Md Riaz Uddin Khan, Justice Md Khairul Alam, Justice SM Moniruzzaman, Justice Ahmed Sohel, Justice Sardar Md Rashed Jahangir, Justice Khandaker Diliruzzaman, and Justice KM Hafizul Alam.

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain may administer the oath-taking of the judges today, Supreme Court Spokesman Md Saifur Rahman told The Daily Star last night.           

On May 30, 2018, President Md Abdul Hamid appointed them as additional judges to the High Court Division of the Supreme Court for two years.

They were sworn in on May 31 in the same year.    


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News