182 cops win awards for best service | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 01, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:41 AM, January 01, 2018

182 cops win awards for best service

Police Week begins Jan 8

Around 182 policemen will be honoured with the Bangladesh Police Medal (BPM) and President Police Medal (PPM) during the Police Week-2018 beginning on January 8.

Md Moniruzzaman, additional deputy inspector general of intelligence and special affairs of Police Headquarters (PHQ), said 106 police officials have been selected for their roles in anti-militancy operations.

The other 42, who suffered severe injuries, will be awarded for their bravery in anti-militancy drives and fighting terrorism, the official added.

Three officers will be awarded for sacrificing their lives in a bomb blast during the anti-militancy operation, “operation Twilight”, on March 25 in Sylhet. They are Lt Col Abul Kalam Azad, intelligence wing director of Rapid Action Battalion (Rab),

Chowdhury Abu Mohammad Kaiser, an inspector of court police in Sylhet, and Monirul Islam, inspector (investigation) of Jalalabad Police Station.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina would award medals to police and Rapid Action Batallion (Rab) members at Razarbagh Police Lines in the capital.

Among them, 30 would also receive BPM-service and 53 will be honoured with PPM-service. Some 71 officials will receive PPM-courage while 30 others BPM-courage in recognition of their courageous performance round the year, said Moniruzzaman.

The cop said the rank of the 86 awardees ranges between constable and inspector.

Three officials of Police Bureau of Investigation and one of Tourist police will be awarded for their efficiency.

In addition, some 12 female officials are being awarded for their extra-ordinary services. The high officials of police, who are also being awarded this year, include Mokhlesur Rahman, additional inspector general (admin); Shafiqul Islam, additional IGP of anti terrorism unit; Asaduzzaman Mia, DMP commissioner; Monirul Islam, chief of counter terrorism unit; Md Moniruzzaman, additional DIG of intelligence and special affairs of PHQ; Sheikh Hemayet Hossain, additional IGP of CID; and Md Asaduzzaman, superintendent of Bogra police. 


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News