12:00 AM, December 25, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:09 AM, December 25, 2018

Will ensure all fundamental rights

B Chy unveils Juktofront manifesto

Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh (BDB)-led alliance, Juktofront, yesterday promised to work for upholding the exercises of democratic values to a large extent in the country, if their candidates win.

“We will ensure all fundamental rights of the people, bring reformation in the Digital Security Act, keep 20 percent seats reserved for women and another 20 percent for experts in the parliament to establish democracy and politics of balance,” Dr AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury, president of Bikalpa Dhara, said as he unveiled the alliance's 8-point election manifesto at a Dhaka hotel, with less than a week to go for the 11th national election.

He said that the Juktofront has been formed to ensure a better Bangladesh where democracy will be emboldened in all stages and economic development will be the prime goal.

“Rights of people from all communities will be protected without any discrimination,” he added  

Badruddoza said that deputy speaker of the parliament will be elected from opposition's representatives and number of MPs will be increased for a bicameral parliament.

He said that a bank commission will be established to curb corruption in the sector and every district will get a leadership academy to produce skilled human resources.

Badruddoza said that their alliance will continue the trial of war criminals and will enhance efforts to combat militancy, terrorism and extremism.

The manifesto also highlighted eliminating discrimination between the rich and poor, ensuring health services for all, combating graft in all sectors, separate ministry for jute, development in agriculture, coordination between public and private educational institutions, preventing question paper leak, job quota for physically challenged persons, formation of provincial government and implementing an independent foreign policy.

Badruddoza urged the Election Commission and political parties in the country to play their respective roles so that a fair election can be held peacefully.

BDB candidates are running for three seats, but none of the seven other parties in the Juktofront has been offered seats. Bikalpa Dhara leaders Mahi B Chowdhury, Maj (retd) MA Mannan and MA Shahin will contest the polls for Munshiganj-2, Laxmipur-4 and Moulvibazar-2 respectively with the AL's electoral symbol “boat”.

Leave your comments