11:14 PM, December 30, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:55 AM, December 31, 2018

AL going to form govt for 3rd consecutive term

Awami League-led 14-party grand alliance is going to form the government for the third consecutive terms as the party already got more than 151 seats out of total 300 in the 11th national elections.

The 14-party grand alliance has won 247 seats according to results unofficially announced by the returning officers till 12:50 pm in the election.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Besides, BNP and Jatiya Oikyafront faced a massive setback as the political opposition won only five seats in the election till filing of the report around 11:50 pm.

A total of 39 political parties participated in the 11th parliamentary election with a total of 1861 contenders against the 300 parliamentary constituencies.

Awami League-led 14-party grand alliance formed the government after getting 263 seats out of 300 in the ninth general election held on December 29, 2008.

On the other hand, the BNP-Jamaat-e-Islami-led four-party alliance got 32 seats in the 2008 election.

The 14-party alliance also formed government having of 153 seats out of 300 elected unopposed in the tenth parliamentary election held on January 5, 2014.

The then BNP-Jamaat four-party alliance boycotted the 10th parliamentary election as their demand of holding the election under a nonparty caretaker government was not met.



It is after 10 years that Bangladesh and its people are witnessing an election that is being held in participation of all the major political parties.

The last one held on January 5, 2014, was highly debated both nationally and internationally as it saw no election to more than half of the seats.

A total of 153 constituencies out of the total 300 saw lawmakers elected uncontested – an election which was boycotted by prime opposition BNP.

Sheikh Hasina remained in rule for two consecutive terms with the parliamentary opposition of Jatiya Party, which took part in the cabinet of Awami League.


A total of 10,42,38,677 voters across the country are expected to cast vote throughout the 40,183 polling centres installed across 299 constituencies.

Voting will undergo across the country uninterrupted from 8:00am in the morning to 4:00pm under the supervision of the Election Commission and its 66 returning officers.

Though 39 political parties are contesting in the elections, the main focus is likely to fall on the ruling Awami League and its alliances, including Jatiya Party, and its arch opposition alliance Jatiya Oikyafront which consists of BNP.

Voting is taking place under the administration of running Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Leave your comments