Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka match live score update
05:02 PM, September 15, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:47 AM, September 16, 2018

Bangladesh crush Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka crumbling in chase of Bangladesh's 261, falling to a 137-run defeat in their Asia Cup opener.

It took Sri Lanka 29 overs just to break the 100-run mark, at which point they had lost eight wickets, but the game was over long before then.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman and Mehedi Hasan Miraz picked up two wickets each as the Islanders lost wickets at regular intervals without being able to add much to the scoreboard.

It was thought that Bangladesh would have to work hard to defend a total that was described as below-par. In reality however, the Lankans never posed a threat.

Earlier, Bangladesh posted a good total of 261 thanks to Mushfiqur Rahim's unbeaten 144 that featured some lusty late blows.

Bangladesh had reached 229 for eight before Mustafizur Rahman departed off the last ball of the 47th over. That should have brought an end to Bangladesh's innings but Tamim Iqbal, with heavy bandages over his fractured hand, reappeared to play out the last ball of the over.

It was an incredible show of will and dedication and Tamim fended off Suranga Lakmal's bouncer with one hand to end the over.

Mushfiqur then ensured that Tamim's heroics would not go to waste, smashing three sixes, three fours, a single and a double off the remaining balls.

Earlier, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Mithun pull Bangladesh out of the gutter with a century stand for the third wicket in the opening match of the Asia Cup against Sri Lankan at the Dubai International Stadium today.  

The pair took the score to 119-2 from a hopeless 3-2 with Tamim Iqbal retired hurt. The partnership stood 116 runs after 23 overs with Mithun unbeaten on 57 and Mushfiqur on 54. Mithun scored his maiden half century off 52 balls that contained four fours and a couple of sixes. Mushfiqur's half century featured three fours and a six.

Bangladesh got off to a disastrous start when they lost two wickets in first over bowled by a vintage Lasith Malinga.

The experienced pacer, returning to international cricket after a gap of one year, first had opener Liton Das caught in the slip for a duck with the fifth ball before having Sakib Al Hasan clean bowled with an Yourker for a golden duck. The opening over burst saw Bangladesh reduced to 1-2 after other opener Tamim Iqbal stroked a single off the first delivery.

Bangladesh suffered another blow in the second over bowled by Suranga Lakmal when Tamim retired hurt for two after sustaining a blow on his left- wrist. The experienced left-hander left the ground to assess the extent of the injury, leaving Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Mithun to repair the early damage.

Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza won the toss  and chose to bat. The good news is that despite recent injury worries, Bangladesh  fielded a full-strength side. 

The only changes from the last ODI Bangladesh played in the West Indies is that opener Anamul Haque makes way for Liton Das and Sabbir Rahman goes out for Mohammad Mithun. 

Historically speaking, Bangladesh are very much the underdogs as they have won just six and lost 44 games against Sri Lanka. In recent times however, the rivalry has been much more competitive. In their last five completed matches, Bangladesh have won two and lost three matches.

Their most recent ODI was the tri-series final in Bangladesh in January, which the hosts lost by 79 runs. 
Their most recent encounter in any format was the group game of the T20 Nidahas Trophy which ended in acrimony with Bangladesh knocking out the hosts in Colombo. T20I captain Shakib Al Hasan had at one point called the batsmen back because of a contentious umpiring call, and there were heated exchanges between the sides in the aftermath.  
Bangladesh team:
Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (C), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman. 
Sri Lanka team:
Upul Tharanga, Akila Dhananjaya, Angelo Mathews (C), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Amila Aponso, Dilruwan Perera

Leave your comments