Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan match live score update
05:02 PM, September 20, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:40 PM, September 20, 2018

Debuts for Nazmul, Hider as Tigers field

Afghanistan captain Asghar Afghan won the toss and elected to bat in their last Asia Cup Group B match against Bangladesh in Abu Dhabi.

There are three changes to the Bangladesh side, necessitated by injury and the circumstances of having to play two matches in as many days. Nazmul Hassan Shanto gets his maiden ODI in place of opener Tamim Iqbal, who sustained a fractured left hand in the tournament opener against Sri Lanka on Saturday. Ace Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman has been rested for the game, giving left-arm pacer Abu Hider a debut. Mushfiqur Rahim, who scored 144 during the 137-run win over Sri Lanka, has also been rested as he is carrying a rib injury, and in his place Mominul Haque will play his first ODI in more than three years.

The match will have no bearing on the tournament. Bangladesh and Afghanistan, having both beaten Sri Lanka, are already through to the Super Four stage where four teams – India and Pakistan being the others – will play each other in a round-robin league. Ordinarily, this match would have decided the champions and runners-up of the group and hence which opponent each team would play tomorrow. However, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) had released a schedule for the Super Four on Wednesday, even before the group standings were finalised. The ACC's claim is that this was the arrangement from before the tournament, but it is likely because India had expressed a preference to play all matches in Dubai.

Bangladesh team:

Nazmul Islam, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Rubel Hossain, Abu Hider Rony.


Afghanistan team:

Mohammad Shahzad, Ihsanullah Jannat, Hashmatullah Shaidi, Asghar Afghan (captain), Mohammad Nabi Eisakhil, Samiullah Shenwari, Rashid Khan Arman, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmat Shah, Aftab Alam, Najibullah Zadran


Leave your comments