Charunirom honours TV personalities | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 28, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, April 28, 2010

Charunirom honours TV personalities

(From left) Joya Ahsan and Chayanika Chowdhury receive their awards.

Charunirom Institute of Acting and Research held a programme last Monday where certificates were given to students from five batches. At the event -- held at Public Library, Dhaka -- the institute also awarded talented TV personalities.
The programme started with renowned TV play director Salahuddin Lavlu handing certificates to students of the institute.
The award-giving session started with conferring the 'best story/subject' (TV play) prize. Diponkor Dipon's “Golden Ratio” won the award. Shihab Shaheen's play “Oporinamdorshi” won the award for 'best script'. Khaer Khondokar and Jewel Das jointly won the 'best cinematography' award from the play “A Journey by Boat”. R.U. Sumon and S.R. Tawhid jointly won the award for 'best editing' for “Shasti”. A.K. Azad won the 'best background music' award for the play “Mrityupoth Jatri”. Milon won the 'best makeup' award for the play “Panjabiwala”. Mita Multimedia bagged the 'best producer' award and Masud Hossain won the 'best director' award from the play “Roud Mekho Shurjomukhi”.
The 'best actor' award went to Ashish Khondokar for his performance in the play “E Shomoy”. For her role in the play “Mayesha”, Joya Ahsan won the 'best actress' award. Syed Mahidul Islam Memorial Award and lifetime achievement recognition went to seasoned actress Sharmili Ahmed.
A special award was conferred on Chayanika Chowdhury for completion and airing of one hundred plays. The 'Chitra Kusumkoli' for best new artiste went to Esha Yusuf.
In between conferring the awards, Charunirom students presented dance and sketches. Gazi Rakayet, director of the institute, said that all the plays that have won awards are of international standards. He also said that the movement to save one-hour TV plays would gain a momentum through events and recognitions like these.
Sharmili Ahmed dedicated her lifetime achievement award to her father. Among others, noted media personalities Syed Hasan Imam, Abdul Aziz, Pijush Bandopadhyay, Jayasri, Rahmat Ali, Chashi Nazrul Islam, Munira Yusuf Memi, Morshedul Islam, Shahriar Nazim Joy, Ataur Rahman and Shakur Majid were present at the event.

Translated by Staff Correspondent

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News