Talent and glamour unified | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 24, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, January 24, 2010

Talent and glamour unified

Mehazabien Chowdhury crowned Lux-Channel i Superstar ‘09

Mehazabien Chowdhury (centre), winner of the ‘Lux Channel i Superstar 2009’ contest, after being crowned.

The glitzy grand finale of 'Lux Channel i Superstar 2009' was held at the Bangabandhu International Convention Centre on January 22. Jointly put together by Unilever Bangladesh's brand Lux and Channel i, the highlight of the event was the announcement of the 'Superstar' of 2009. The programme also featured performances by the finalists as well as popular singers and models.
This year the 'Lux Channel-i Superstar' title went to Mehazabien Chowdhury. She was crowned by last year's winner Ishrat Jahan Chaity. Mehazabien was awarded a movie contract, a brand new car and an international scholarship for acting. Faridur Reza Sagor, managing director of Impress Telefilm Ltd, presented the contract to Mehazabien. Rakesh Mohan, chairman and managing director, Unilever Bangladesh Ltd handed over the car keys to her. Naushad Chowdhury, brands and development director, Unilever Bangladesh Ltd and Aly Zaker, chairman, Asiatic Marketing Communications Ltd were also present at the event.
Mounita Khan Ishana was announced the first runner up. She received a cheque for Tk 5 lakh while the second runner up Sadika Parvin Swarna received a cheque for Tk 3 lakh.
Apart from these, three special awards -- 'Pond's Miss Beautiful Skin', 'Sunsilk Miss Beautiful Hair' and 'Close-Up Miss Beautiful Smile' -- were conferred on the occasion to Ishana, Tahsin and Orsha respectively by Kaniz Almas, Kona Reza and Hosne Ara Dewan. All three recipients received a cheque for Tk 1 lakh each with crests and bouquets.
Highlight of the event: Each of the five finalists paired with five popular singers for live performances. Shafin Ahmed with Mehezabien, Sumon [of Aurthohin] with Ishana, Bappa Majumdar with Swarna, Topu with Orsha and Ayub Bachchu with Tahsin performed five songs -- “Prothom Prem-er Moto”, “Tumi Aashley Abar”, “Megh Balika”, “Meye, Tumi Ekhono Amaye” and “Oi Mukh-er Koto Hashi”. Next the contestants took part in the catwalk round.
Another major attraction was a dance performance by former Lux-Channel i Superstars -- Shanu (2005), Mim (2007) and Chaity (2008) -- with music by Fuad Al Muqtadir. Tansen choreographed the number.
One of the key parts of the event was the Q&A session, where the finalists had to face the judges -- litterateur Syed Shamsul Haq, Asaduzzaman Noor MP [deputy managing director, Asiatic Marketing Communications Ltd]; director [news] of Channel i, Skykh Seraj; former Lux star and noted actress Subarna Mustafa; designer Mahin Khan and actress Afsana Mimi.
Based on the previous three episodes, the winners were selected through a combination of SMS votes and scores given by the judges.
At the beginning of the event, the three main judges of the competition -- Syed Shamsul Haq, Subarna Mustafa and Afsana Mimi -- spoke on the qualities that a 'superstar' should have. Munmun was the MC of the show.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News