PM hands Ekushey Padak 2016 | The Daily Star
01:48 PM, February 20, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:36 PM, February 20, 2016

PM hands Ekushey Padak 2016

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today handed over Ekushey Padak for 2016 to 16 eminent personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions in their respective fields.
The ceremony was held at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka.
The recipients are, Justice Kazi Ebadul Haque, Dr Sayed Haider, late Syed Golam Kibria, Dr Jashimuddin Ahmed for their contribution to the Language Movement, Begum Jahanara Ahmed for arts - television and film, Pandit Amaresh Roy Chowdhury for arts-classical music, Begum Shaheen Samad for arts- music, Amanul Haque for arts-dance, late Kazi Anwar Hossain for arts-painting, Mafidul Haque for contribution to the Liberation War and Toab Khan for journalism.
The recipients also include Prof Dr ABM Abdullah in research, Mongsen Ching Monsin for research, Joityprakash Dutt in language and literature, Prof Dr Hayat Mahmud for language and literature and Habibullah Siraji  also for language and literature.
The Ekushey Padak carries a gold medal, a citation and a cheque for Tk 2 lakh each.
Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam conducted the ceremony and read out the citations of the awardees chaired by Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News