Two years without Ayub Bachchu | The Daily Star
02:46 PM, October 18, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:09 PM, October 18, 2020

Two years without Ayub Bachchu

On October 18, 2018, the legendary Ayub Bachchu passed away, leaving millions of fans and well-wishers across the world heart-broken. Today marks two years without the presence of one of the greatest Bangladeshi musicians of all time.

Hundreds of people flocked to the hospital upon the news of his death, and thousands of people paid their respect to the legend on the Shaheed Minar, with heavy hearts.

In honour of the guitar maestro, Bangladesh Copyright Office will unveil a website archiving 272 of the legendary musician's songs and a YouTube channel. This is the first time that a Bangladeshi artiste's music is being officially archived by the government.

Born in Chittagong on August 16, 1962, Ayub Bachchu was a rock guitarist, composer, singer and songwriter, as well as the founder of the Bangladeshi rock band LRB.

"Once we close our eyes, life stops. This is the true essence of life. All of us will have to go one day," shared Ayub Bachchu, in an interview with The Daily Star, months before his departure. "Life will go on at its own pace. It is like waves, each time different waves will come ashore in the spectrum of life."

Ayub Bachchu's debut song, "Harano Bikeler Golpo," was written by Shahid Mahmud Jongi. In 1986, Bachchu's first solo album, "Roktogolap," was released.

Bachchu joined the rock band Feelings, now known as Nagar Baul, back in 1978. Later on, he joined Souls in 1980 and was involved in the band for almost a decade.

On April 5, 1991, Ayub Bachchu formed LRB, abbreviation of "Love Runs Blind," and in 1992, LRB released their first album.

In his lifetime, Ayub Bachchu released a total of 16 solo albums, "Moyna" (1988), "Koshto" (1995), "Shomoy" (1998), "Eka" (1999), "Prem Tumi Ki" (2002), "Duti Mon"(2002), "Kafela" (2002), "Prem Premer Moto" (2003), "Pother Gaan" (2004), "Vatir Gaane Matir Tane" (2006), "Jibon" (2006), "Sound of Silence" (2007), "Rimjhim Brishti" (2008), "Bolini Kokhono" (2009), and "Jiboner Golpo" (2015).

LRB's solo albums include "L.R.B" (1992), "Shukh" (1993), "Tobuo" (1994), "Ghumonto Shohore" (1995), "Ferari Mon" (1996), "Amader Bishmoy" (1998), "Mon Chaile Mon Pabe" (2000), "Ochena Jibon" (2003), "Mone Ache Naki Nei" (2005), "Sporsho" (2008), and "Juddho" (2012) among others.

Ayub Bachchu gifted the audience with countless timeless classics including "Cholo Bodle Jai," "Hashte Dekho Gaite Dekho," "Keu Shukhi Noy," "Ferari Ei Monta Amar," "Ekdin Ghum Bhanga Shohore," "Bangladesh," "Koshto Pete Bhalobashi," "Ekhon Onek Raat," "Ei Rupali Guitar Fele," "Gotokal Rate," "Shei Tara Bhora Raat E," "Meye Tumi Ki Dukkho Cheno," "Share Tin Hat Mati," "Ural Debo Akashe," and " Ek Akash Tara Tui" among others.

"Ononto Prem Tumi Dao Amake," "Ami Toh Preme Porini," "Ammajan," and "Sagorika Ami Beche Achi" among other hit film songs, cemented Ayub Bachchu's place in the hearts of thousands of Bangladeshi across the world.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News