PM confers National Film Awards 2019 | The Daily Star
02:52 PM, January 17, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:39 PM, January 17, 2021

PM confers National Film Awards 2019

The Bangabandhu International Conference Center (BICC) was adorned in film posters and other festivities, as stars from the entertainment world made their presence felt for the National Film Awards for the year 2019.

The awards were handed over to 33 recipients under 26 categories by Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, on behalf of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

The event was presided over by the Information Minister. State Minister of Information, Murad Hasan was the Special Guest, while Information Secretary Khaja Miah delivered the welcome address.

The Prime Minister joined via video conference, and congratulated all the winners at the event. "It is saddening that I cannot hand over the awards personally this year. On this occasion, I would like to remember the Father of the Nation, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. Through his directions, Bangladesh Film Development Corporation (BFDC) was formed," she said. "My family has always been an avid lover of the arts. We all know about Sheikh Kamal -- besides his affinity for sports, was also fond of theatre."

The Prime Minister also touched upon the importance of making more films on the Liberation War. "Art plays a very powerful in educating the new generation. We need to make more films on the Liberation War, and more films for children. We all want our film industry to prosper, like it used to before," she concluded.

Information Minister Hasan Mahmud said that the government has always taken steps to ensure the wellbeing of the film industry. A fund of over BDT 1000 Crore is in the works, from which the industry and its artistes will benefit immensely.

During the event, the Lifetime Achievement Award were given to esteemed actors Masud Pervez (Sohel Rana) and Kohinoor Akhter Suchanda.

Tariq Anam Khan was presented with the Best Actor in a Lead Role (Male) for his performance in "Abar Boshonto".

Sunerah Binte Kamal won the award for Best Actor in a Lead Role (female) for her role in "No Dorai". Taneem Rahman Angshu won the Best Director for the same film, which bagged six awards.

"No Dorai" and "Fagun Haway" jointly won the Best Film Award.

Masud Pothik Directorial "Maya: The Lost Mother" won eight awards in different categories, securing the highest number of awards by a film in this iteration.

Veteran actor Zahid Hasan won Best Villain for his role in "Shap Ludu", whereas Fazlur Rahman Babu and Nargis Akhter won the awards for Best Supporting Role for their part in "Fagun Haway" and "Maya: The Lost Mother" respectively.

Afreen Akhter and Naimur Rahman won the awards for Best Child Artiste for "Jodi Ekdin" and "Kalo Megher Bhela".

Bangladesh Television's documentary "Je Chilo Ondhokare" won the award for Best Documentary. "Nari O Jibon" was awarded under the Best Short Film category.

Emon Chowdhury won Best Music Director for his work in "Maya: The Lost Mother", while Habibur Rahman won the award for Best Dance Director for "Moner Moto Manush Pailam Na".

Momotaz Begum and Fatema Tuz Zahra Oyshee jointly won the Best Female Singer awards for their songs in "Maya: The Lost Mother". Mrinal Kanti Das won the Best Male Singer for "Shuttle Train".

The other awardees are: Masud Pratik for storywriting, Mahboob Rahman for screenplay, Zakir Hossain Raju for dialogue, Junaed Ahmed Halim for editing, Mohammad Rahmat Ullah Basu and Md Farid Ahmed for art instruction, Khandaker Razia Afrin for costume and Md Raju for makeup.

A cultural evening followed, with performances from Sadia Islam Mou, Ferdous, Apu Biswas, Mahiya Mahi, Symon Sadiq and Nusraat Faria.

Singers, Liza, Luipa and Apu Zaman serenaded the audience. Actors Anisur Rahman Milon and Ashna Habib Bhabna hosted the cultural evening.

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News