Ananya Top Ten Awards 2018 conferred
12:00 AM, March 24, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 10:49 AM, March 24, 2019

Ananya Top Ten Awards 2018 conferred

Every year since 1993, Ananya Magazine has recognised and honoured ten women for their remarkable contribution in their respected fields. Yesterday at the central auditorium of Bangladesh National Museum, the Ananya Top Ten Awards 2018 was held, in the presence of many successful women of the country. 

This year, Dr Sayeba Akhter (Medical), Parveen Mahmud (Management and Development) Afroza Khan (Entrepreneur), Sona Rani Rai (Cottage Industries), Laili Begum (Journalism), Nazmun Nahar (Youth), Sweety Das Chowdhury (Manipuri Dance), Rumana Ahmed (Sports), Shamsunnahar (Administration) and Fatema Khatun (Technology) were honoured by Ananya Magazine.

The award ceremony started with a dance performance by Shadhona Cultural Centre. Sweety Das Chowdhury, one of the awardees, was among the dancers. After the brilliant performance, a documentary on the lives of these ten women, made by Tapash Dutt, was screened for the audience. The hurdles that these women went through on their journeys of becoming successful were beautifully portrayed in the documentary.

"Our aim is to show the many faces of development and women's involvement in it,” said Tasmima Hossain, the editor and publisher of Ananya Magazine. "By recognising these women, I hope we can achieve that." Member of Parliament and renowned actor, Suborna Mustafa, and Former State Minister of the Ministry of Public Administration, Ismat Ara Sadique, presented the awards as the chief guest and special guest respectively.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News