Channel i Music Award held | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, October 01, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, October 01, 2017

Channel i Music Award held

Awards handed in Critics' Choice and popular categories

The 12th Channel i Music Award, powered by 7up, was held at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in the capital on September 29 evening. Hundreds of artistes attended the largest award giving ceremony in the country's music scene.

Starting from dazzling stage decorations to delightful musical presentations and charming dance performances, the event was packed with entertainment. With the participation of musicians, film and television stars and members of the music fraternity, the programme had everything to spellbind the audience.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to renowned singer Khurshid Alam for his outstanding contributions to the enrichment of music.

Noted singers Ferdousi Rahman and Syed Abdul Hadi; Faridur Reza Sagor, managing director of Impress Tele-film Limited and Channel i; Khurshid Irfan Chowdhury, Executive Director, Transcom Beverages Limited and Mukit Majumdar Babu, Director, Channel i, handed over the award to Khurshid Alam.

Khurshid Alam said, “I am feeling proud to receive the award during my lifetime. I am grateful to Channel i and the jury members who selected me for the award.”

For the first time, organisers conferred a special award to noted singer Shammi Akter. Due to illness, she couldn't attend the programme. Her husband and daughter received the award on her behalf. Four eminent music directors – Alauddin Ali, Sheikh Sadi Khan, Alam Khan and Ali Hossain – were also honoured at the programme. 

Thirteen artistes, music directors, album cover designers and music video makers received Critics' Awards in different categories.

The award winning artistes included Anima Roy (Rabindra Sangeet), Nashid Kamal (Nazrul Sangeet), Shafi Mondal (folk music), Fahmida Nabi (adhunik song), Priyanka Gope (classical music), James (film playback), and Mehedi Hasan (emerging singer).

Shafiq Tuhin also received Critics' Award for music direction while Asif Iqbal bagged award for best lyrics. Parthibo bagged best band award. Tanim Rahman Angshu, Pavel Areen and Nahid received awards in critics' choice for music video, sound engineer and cover design respectively.

Moreover, Kumar Bishwajit received Popular Choice Award in adhunik songs. Shahin Khan as emerging singer, Obscure as best band, Imran for film playback and Rommo Khan for music video received awards in this category.

The colourful event also featured performances by both popular and prominent singers.

A host of musicians including Swani Zubayeer and a troupe of noted instrumentalists presented monsoon ragas with a riveting dance by Mehraj Haque Tushar and co-artistes; renowned Baul Shafi Mondal and co-artistes performed folk songs; renowned Tagore singer Rezwana Chowdhury Bannya and folk queen Momtaz rendered solos, James performed two songs and singer Imran and actor Purnima performed songs with dance at the programme among others.

Farzana Brownia hosted the programme, directed by Ejaj Khan Swapan. The recorded version of the programme will air on Channel i on 6 October.

Today (October 1) also marks the 19th birth anniversary of Channel i, and the channel will air day-long special programmes on the occasion.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News