12:00 AM, December 27, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:02 AM, December 27, 2017

NBR honours top taxpayers of tax zone 5

Md Nojibur Rahman, chairman of the National Board of Revenue, poses with a number of top taxpayers who were awarded tax cards from the tax zone-5 for 2016-17. Photo: Star

The National Board of Revenue yesterday honoured the top taxpayers for 2016-17 of tax zone 5.

National Board of Revenue Chairman Md Nojibur Rahman handed over crests to them at a ceremony organised in the revenue administrator's Segun Bagicha office for tax zone 5.

He praised the tax cardholders, saying: “These individuals or firms are contributing to the development of the country.”

“They are paying tax themselves and setting examples for others.”

Mahfuz Anam, editor and publisher of The Daily Star, accepted the crest on behalf of Mediaworld Ltd, the owning company of the newspaper, whereas Tofail Hossain received the trophy on behalf of East

West Media Group Ltd and Mohua Mahbub Khan on behalf of Bay Developments Ltd.

SA Chowdhury accepted the crest on behalf of Space Zero Ltd, Md Taufiqul Islam Chowdhury on behalf of ASA, Sirajul Islam on behalf of Buro Bangladesh and Habibur Rahman on behalf of a longtime taxpayer Md Saidullah Mia.

NBR members Md Abdur Razzak and Habibur Rahman Akhand, Central Intelligence Cell Director General Belal Uddin and Tax Zone 5 Commissioner Shaheen Akhter also spoke.