12:00 AM, January 18, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Premier hockey league begins today

Premier hockey league begins today

Sports Reporter

The Green Delta Insurance 29th Premier Division Hockey League gets underway today with current runners-up Usha Krira Chakra taking on Dhaka Wanderers Club while Abahani will face Azad SC, both at the Maulana Bhasani National Hockey Stadium.
In the absence of traditional powerhouse Mohammedan SC, Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club, Bangladesh SC and Wari Club -- all of whom opted out of domestic hockey in protest against the current executive committee of the Bangladesh Hockey Federation -- the premier league has been reduced to a seven-team affair. However, the title race will likely be between ten-time champions Abahani and most recent Club Cup winners Usha KC, who have three league titles in their cabinets.
Both Abahani and Usha have formed strong sides with local stars while they have also contacted foreign players who will be arriving soon.
Mamunur Rashid, the coach of Usha KC, was confident of winning the title after grabbing the Club Cup title, the season's curtain-raiser on Friday.
The top four teams from the group stages, where all the teams will face each other once, will advance to the super league stage.


Leave your comments