12:00 AM, December 22, 2012 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 22, 2012

AL Council on Dec 29

Move to create new leaders

Party may expand central working committee

Share this with

Copy this link
Hasan Jahid Tusher

The 73-member Awami League Central Working Committee (ALCWC), the highest decision making body of the ruling party, might be expanded through its upcoming national council on December 29.
But the size of the committee had not been finalised yet, said party insiders, adding that this time it might get 91 to 101 members.
Sources said the move was being mulled to accommodate more leaders, including those who are known as reformist, in the committee.
According to the party constitution, the ALCWC is to be comprised of 73 members including the party president, general secretary, presidium members, treasurer, departmental secretaries and members. Among them, 26 are nominated by the party chief.
The AL insiders hinted that the 15-member presidium, the highest policymaking body of the party, might get expanded too along with the 3-member joint general secretaries, 32-member departmental secretaries and members.
AL presidium member Matia Chowdhury told The Daily Star that the expansion of the central committee became needful, as the country's population had sharply increased over the last couple of decades.
“As far as I know, more leaders will be included in the central committee subject to approval from the next national council,” she said.
Matia, also the agriculture minister, said they were having problems in accommodating party leaders in different committees.
“For instance, the district committee has long been pressing us to expand the size of the upazila unit committees, as they could not include many dedicated leaders in those,” she added.
AL Joint General Secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif, however, said they were yet to decide on expanding the ALCWC.
Meanwhile, the ruling AL has formed several committees with a view to making the upcoming council a success.
AL presidium member and Deputy Leader of the House Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury has been made chief of the reception committee while presidium member Kazi Zafarullah head of the finance committee; presidium member and Communications Minister Obaidul Quader chairman of AL office/secretariat committee; lawmaker Asaduzzaman Noor head of the cultural committee; and AFM Bahauddin Nasim head of the disciplinary committee, among others.

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link