12:00 AM, December 11, 2012 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 11, 2012

Walton National Cricket League 2012

Dhaka finish second

Share this with

Copy this link
Sports Reporter

Dhaka ensured they finish runners-up in the 14th National Cricket League yesterday as they raced to an innings victory over Barisal at the Sheikh Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi. Dhaka Metro, who thrashed Sylhet by nine wickets at the Cricket Garden in Rangpur finished third whereas reigning champions Rajshahi claimed the fourth spot.
Marshall Ayub, who scored 604 runs at an average of 67.11, finished as the highest run-scorer of the league while Enamul Haque Jr. topped the bowling with 44 wickets.
Earlier, Khulna were crowned champions of the league on Sunday after they beat Rajshahi within three days.
Dhaka thrashed Barisal as they raced to victory. Mosharraf Hossain, who has had a brilliant league so far, finished off with a five-for and helped Dhaka bowl out Barisal for 113 in the second innings. Rakibul Hasan's 165 in the first innings earned him the player-of-the-match award.
With both teams getting past the 350-run mark, the game at the Sylhet Divisional Stadium finished as a draw.
Rangpur, who had an overnight score of 487 for 9, were bowled out without adding any run yesterday. In reply, Chittagong finished the day on 187 for 6. Liton Kumar scored 157 in the first innings and was named the player-of-the-match.
Dhaka Metro romped to a 9-wicket victory at the Cricket Garden in Rangpur, after Sylhet, who had an overnight score of 235 for 8, were bowled out for 265 in the morning session. Metro's target, 75 was completed in just 11 overs. Marshal Ayub, who scored a century and took 2 wickets, was adjudged player-of-the-match.
First innings 256 all out in 92.1 overs and second innings 113 all out in 32.2 overs (Ripon 31; Mosharraf 5-50) v DHAKA: First innings 474 all out in 136.1 overs.
Result: Dhaka won by an innings and 105 runs.
Player-of-the-match: Rakibul Hasan.
CHITTAGONG: First innings 350 all out in 95.4 overs and second innings 187 for 6 in 52 overs (Nazim 55, Nafis 53; Suvasish 4-49) v RANGPUR: 487 all out in 139.3 overs.
Result: Match drawn.
Player-of-the-match: Liton Kumar.
DHAKA METRO: First innings 345 all out in 96.1 overs and second innings 78 for 1 in 11 overs (Shamsur 45, Marshal 25; Enamul 1-42) v SYLHET: First innings 155 all out in 65.5 overs and second innings 265 all out in 70.2 overs.
Result: Dhaka Metro won by 9 wickets.
Player-of-the-match: Marshal Ayub.

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link