12:00 AM, October 12, 2012 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, October 12, 2012

BPL 2 from Jan 17

Share this with

Copy this link
Sports Reporter

The second edition of the lucrative Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 will commence on January 17 next year, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) revealed after a meeting of the tournament's governing council yesterday.
Other decisions taken during the meeting include the date for the franchisee auction, set for November 9, and the date for the players' auction, which will be held on December 7.
The date set for the franchisee auction is a tentative one, as the auction will take place if the existing franchisees do not fulfil some conditions, and if the governing council wants to add a new team to the six-team competition.
"The [franchisee] auction will take place if the existing franchisees fail to fulfil the preset terms and conditions and payments," said BPL governing council chairman Gazi Ashraf Hossain yesterday.
"We haven't yet signed contracts with the existing franchisees. The last date is October 20 and if they fail to sign contracts before this deadline, we will have to look for new owners. We may also want to add another team, in which case we will have to hold an auction for a new franchisee."
The council also decided upon a few other changes from the tournament's inaugural edition, which was won by the Dhaka Gladiators in February this year. Unlike the first edition, there will be no icon players. Instead, players have been divided into four categories: Golden, Category A, Category B and Category C.
In a further departure from the first edition which had no bidding limit, the final bidding price for each category has been set for the 2013 edition.
"Last year's experience told us to keep the final bidding price within a manageable limit, so that there are no problems with payments," added Ashraf, alluding to the player payment problems that marred the image of the first edition.
The second edition will see matches played in three venues across the country: the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, the MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong and the Sheikh Abu Nasser Stadium in Khulna. Fans in the northern regions may be disappointed as once again the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra has been overlooked as a venue to stage high-profile matches.
Like the inaugural tournament, local and foreign cricketers have been separated in terms of bidding prices.

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link